Advanced Search
Welcome
»
DISTILLERIES
» ISLE OF JURA

ISLE OF JURA


 

 
 
The island 11 km wide and 50 km long route consists of a single, one hotel and one distillery.
 
The year 2010 was a special year for the distillery on the island of Jura, which celebrated its bicentenary. There are many years, the inhabitants of the island of Jura, commonly known Diurachs were allowed to distil whiskey for personal consumption. Unfortunately, good things always have an end, politicians inquisitors voted its ban in 1781.
 
 
29 years later, according to legend, Laird Archibald Campbell awoke - sober, it must be said - in the middle of the night and saw the ghost of an old woman floating above his bed.
 
Persuaded by this apparition which reproached the absence of liquid gold on the island, he abolished this punishment and established a distillery near an old smugglers cave in the village of Craighouse in 1810.
Alas, nothing ever lasts very long, it seems. And neglected victim of the economic downturn, the distillery fell rapidly to decay.
 
 
It was only in the 1950s, in an attempt to attract new inhabitants on the island, two local landowners, Robin Fletcher and Riley-Smith rebuilt the distillery, using the architectural magic of a real genius named Delme-Evans.
 
Delme-Evans opted for stills highest to allow the distillery to produce an eclectic mix of malts, a feature that helped distinguish Jura neighboring islands. We do not know if the old woman thinks back, but there is always a bottle of Jura 16 years of age, the favorite whiskey of the inhabitants of the island, in a secret cave deep in the bowels of the island, just to the to dissuade.
 
 
There is always something on the island. All these events are not always provided, but most are announced. Some events and destinations of the island are simply not to be missed ... provided that you reach this place inaccessible!

PROMOTIONS
Newsletter
Votre Email

Votre nom
 
» » ISLE OF JURA


 

 
 
L'île de 11 km de large et de 50 km de long comprend une seule route, un seul hôtel et une seule distillerie.
 
L'année 2010 fut une année toute particulière pour la distillerie de l'île de Jura qui a fêté son bicentenaire. Il y a bien des années, les habitants de l'île de Jura, communément appelés Diurachs, étaient autorisés à distiller du whisky pour leur consommation personnelle. Malheureusement, les bonnes choses ayant toujours une fin, des politiciens inquisiteurs votèrent son interdiction en 1781.
 
 
29 ans plus tard, selon la légende, Laird Archibald Campbell se réveilla - sobre, il faut le préciser - au milieu de la nuit et aperçut le fantôme d'une vieille femme flottant au-dessus de son lit. 
 
Persuadé par cette apparition qui lui reprocha l'absence de liquide doré sur l'île, il abolit cette mesure punitive et établit une distillerie près d’une ancienne grotte de contrebandiers dans le hameau de Craighouse en 1810.
Hélas, rien ne dure jamais très longtemps, semble-t-il. Délaissée et victime du marasme économique, la distillerie succomba rapidement à la vétusté.
 
 
Ce n'est que dans les années 1950, pour tenter d'attirer de nouveaux habitants sur l'île, que deux propriétaires terriens locaux, Robin Fletcher et Riley-Smith, ont reconstruit la distillerie, en faisant appel à la magie architecturale d'un véritable génie répondant au nom de Delme-Evans.
 
Delme-Evans opta pour des alambics plus hauts pour permettre à la distillerie de produire un mélange éclectique de malts, une caractéristique qui aida à distinguer Jura des îles voisines. Nous ignorons si la vieille femme pense revenir, mais il y a toujours une bouteille de Jura 16 ans d'âge, le whisky préféré des habitants de l'île, dans une grotte secrète au plus profond des entrailles de l'île, juste pour l'en dissuader.
 
 
Il se passe toujours quelque chose sur l'île. Tous ces événements ne sont pas toujours prévus, mais la plupart sont annoncés. Certains événements et destinations de l'île sont tout simplement à ne pas manquer ... à condition que vous parveniez à cet endroit inaccessible !
 

RETRAIT GRATUIT

Sur Place
6 avenue de L’Estérel
06160 Juan les Pins
Tél:+33(0)493610556 
Ventes flash
Meilleures ventes
Livraisons