Advanced Search
Welcome
»
DISTILLERIES
» GLENMORANGIE

GLENMORANGIE


 

 
BAILIE JARVIE NICOL - Distillery. (Glenmorangie)
 
The July 29, 1880 has been officially filed the trademark "The Bailie Nicol Jarvie Scotch Whisky Blend of Old." Made with a high proportion of malts (at least 60%), which was outstanding at the time and continues to be today Blend has quickly attracted the best amateurs in its richness and aromatic complexity. It was such a favorite of British officers during the Boer War in South Africa at the end of the 19th century. BNJ is one of the oldest brands of Scotch Blend still exists, as it has existed for over 120 years!
 
 
Glenmorangie (Scottish Gaelic: gleann mór Innse "vale of big meadows") is a distillery near Tain in Ross-shire, Scotland that produces single malt Scotch whiskeys. The distillery is owned by Glenmorangie plc. The main product is the range of Glenmorangie single malt whiskey, which is also used in two of its other products, Bailie Nicol Jarvie and Highland Queen brands of blended Scotch whiskey. The Glenmorangie single malt also enters into the composition of some Vatted malt independent. Similarly, it is often mixed with a small amount of whiskey from the Glen Moray distillery, which is also owned by Glenmorangie plc.
Glenmorangie distillery is referred to as the Highlands, and is equipped with the largest stills in Scotland. Glenmorangie is sold in bottles of 10, 15 and 18, special barrel, as well as a range of special editions. The Bailie Nicol Jarvie and Highland Queen are generally aged 8.
 
 
The legend says that alcoholic beverages are produced at the site of the Glenmorangie Distillery since the Middle Age3.
Officially, alcohol production has begun on the site of the distillery in 1738, when a brewery was built at the farm Morangie. Water for the brewery was shared with the farm. William Matheson in 1843 bought a license to produce whiskey and to transform the brewery distillery there installed two occasion2 gin stills. The distillery adopted the name of the farm Morangie, and the name was filed as Glenmorangie brand.
The distillery was bought by William Matheson its main customer, Macdonald & Muir during the year 19184. Macdonald family will retain control of the company for about 90 years2.
Glenmorangie, like all the breweries and distilleries in Britain, has suffered tremendously between 1920 and 1950, with Prohibition and the Great Depression in the United States, which had a great impact on sales. The distillery had to be "mothballed" between 1931 and 1936. Depression ended with World War II, but the war effort limiting fuel and barley, the distillery again had to be mothballed between 1941 and 19444. Whiskey exports were important during the war, although the enemy has destroyed and disrupted deliveries to United States and Canada.
Towards the end of the war and the immediate post-war period, the distillery increased production to meet the market at full capacity in 1948. The distillery has increased the number of stills from two to four in 1979. The water supply became a concern during the 1980s, the development of land around the sources of Tarlogie becoming increasingly likely. This development could have an impact on the quality and quantity of water available to the distillery, the decision was made to purchase the sources of Tarlogie and 600 acres (2 4 km ²) of surrounding land to ensure quality and the amount of water required. The distillery continued to expand during the year 1993, when four stills were added. Other two fermenters were added in 2002.
 
 
Macdonald family retained ownership of 52% of the company through a list to the London Stock Exchange which allowed the family to hold the majority of voting rights of the company. Macdonald family sold the company in 2004 for about £ 300 million to a joint venture including alcoolier French LVMH - Moët Hennessy Louis Vuitton SA and Guinness Holdings France SA, a French subsidiary of the British company Diageo drinks. LVMH owns 66% stake in the company Diageo and the 34% of the shares restantes5.
Glenmorangie was the best selling single malt in the UK for many years. The distillery produces about 10 million bottles per year, 6-6500000 are sold in the United Kingdom6. Globally, Glenmorangie is 6% market share of single malt.

PROMOTIONS
Newsletter
Votre Email

Votre nom
 
» » GLENMORANGIE


 

 
 
BAILIE NICOL JARVIE - la Distillerie. (Glenmorangie)
 
Le 29 juillet 1880 a été déposée officiellement la marque "The Bailie Nicol Jarvie Blend of Old Scotch Whisky". Elaboré avec une forte proportion de malts (au moins 60 %), ce qui était exceptionnel à l'époque et continue à l'être aujourd'hui, ce Blend a rapidement séduit les meilleurs amateurs par sa richesse et sa complexité aromatique. Il fut notamment le préféré des officiers britanniques lors de la Guerre des Boers, en Afrique du Sud, à la fin du 19ème siècle. BNJ est l'une des plus anciennes marques de Blend écossais toujours existante, car elle existe depuis plus de 120 ans !
 
 
Glenmorangie (du gaélique écossais : gleann mór innse, « vallon des grandes prairies ») est une distillerie près de Tain, dans le Ross-shire, en Écosse qui produit des whiskies écossais single malt. La distillerie est la propriété de Glenmorangie plc. La production principale est la gamme de whiskies single malt Glenmorangie, qui est également utilisée dans deux de ses autres produits, Bailie Nicol Jarvie et Highland Queen, marques de blended whisky écossais. Le single malt Glenmorangie entre également dans la composition de quelques Vatted malt indépendants. De la même manière, il est souvent mélangé avec une petite quantité de whisky de la distillerie Glen Moray, qui est également la propriété de Glenmorangie plc.
 
Glenmorangie est référencée comme distillerie des Highlands, et est équipée du plus grand alambic d'Écosse. Glenmorangie est commercialisé en bouteilles de 10, 15 et 18 ans, tonneau spécial, ainsi qu'en une gamme d'éditions spéciales. Les Bailie Nicol Jarvie et Highland Queen sont généralement âgés de 8 ans.
 
 
La légende rapporte que des boissons alcoolisées sont produites sur le site de la distillerie Glenmorangie depuis le Moyen Âge.
 
Officiellement, la production d'alcool a commencé sur le site de la distillerie en 1738, quand une brasserie a été construite à la ferme de Morangie. L'eau source de la brasserie était partagée avec la ferme. William Matheson acheta en 1843 une licence pour produire le whisky et, pour transformer la brasserie en distillerie, il y installa deux alambics à gin d'occasion. La distillerie adopta le nom de la ferme Morangie, et le nom Glenmorangie fut déposé comme marque.
 
La distillerie fut rachetée à William Matheson par son principal client, Macdonald & Muir au cours de l'année 19184. La famille Macdonald conservera le contrôle de l'entreprise pendant environ 90 ans.
 
Glenmorangie, comme toutes les brasseries et distilleries en Grande-Bretagne, a terriblement souffert entre 1920 et 1950, avec la Prohibition puis la Grande Dépression aux États-Unis, qui ont eu un grand impact sur les ventes. La distillerie dut être "mise sous cocon" entre 1931 et 1936. La dépression prit fin avec la Seconde Guerre mondiale, mais l'effort de guerre limitant le carburant et l'orge, la distillerie dut à nouveau être mise sous cocon entre 1941 et 19444. Les exportations de whisky furent importantes pendant la guerre, bien que l'ennemi ait perturbé et détruit des livraisons aux États-Unis et au Canada.
 
Vers la fin de la guerre et dans l'immédiat après-guerre, la distillerie augmenta sa production jusqu'à atteindre la marche à pleine capacité en 1948. La distillerie a augmenté le nombre d'alambics, de deux à quatre, au cours de l'année 1979. L'approvisionnement en eau est devenu un sujet de préoccupation au cours des années 1980, la mise en valeur des terres autour des sources de la Tarlogie devenant de plus en plus probable.
 
Ce développement pouvant avoir un impact sur la qualité et la quantité d'eau disponible pour la distillerie, la décision fut prise d'acheter les sources de la Tarlogie ainsi que 600 acres (2 4 km²) de terres avoisinantes, afin de garantir la qualité et la quantité d'eau nécessaire. La distillerie continua son expansion au cours des années 1993, quand quatre autres alambics furent ajoutés. Deux autres cuves de fermentation ont été ajoutées au cours de 2002.
 
 
La famille Macdonald a conservé la propriété de 52 % de la société par le biais d'une liste à la Bourse de Londres qui permettait à la famille de détenir la majorité des droits de vote de la société. La famille Macdonald a vendu la société en 2004 pour environ £ 300 millions à une coentreprise comprenant l'alcoolier français LVMH - Moët Hennessy Louis Vuitton SA et Guinness Holdings France SA, la filiale française de la société britannique de boissons Diageo.
 
LVMH possède 66 % des parts et la société Diageo a les 34 % des actions restantes5.
Glenmorangie a été la meilleure vente de single malt au Royaume-Uni durant de nombreuses années. La distillerie produit environ 10 millions de bouteilles par an, dont 6 à 6,5 millions sont vendus au Royaume-Uni6.
Au niveau mondial, Glenmorangie représente 6 % des parts de marché de single malt.
 
 

RETRAIT GRATUIT

Sur Place
6 avenue de L’Estérel
06160 Juan les Pins
Tél:+33(0)493610556 
Ventes flash
Meilleures ventes
Livraisons