Advanced Search
Welcome
»
DISTILLERIES
» CRAGGANMORE

CRAGGANMORE


 

 
Cragganmore is a whiskey distillery in the village of Ballindaloch in Banffshire, Scotland.
Founded in 1869 by John Smith, she was selected by Diageo to represent Speyside in the series of Classic Malts of Scotland in 1988.
The original site of the distillery was chosen because of its proximity to the source of the Craggan one hand and on the other track. At the time of the founding, Smith was already an experienced distiller. He was previously the manager of the Macallan Distillery, Glenlivet, Glenfarclas and Wishaw.
 
 
Cragganmore wash stills contains 2, 2 forms of spirit stills which very flat and goosenecks its bent T-shaped It uses the water of which is very Craggan mineral. The distillery sells in his own name several singles malt.
Production is limited to about Cragganmore sale as single malt, the rest is used in the manufacture of assemblies such as White Horse.
 
It is the proximity of the railway that the presence of a water source which decided the location of the Distillery Cragganmore. It is located on the lands of Ballindalloch Castle, home of the Macpherson-Grants with a wing visit (do not miss the afternoon teas, so British!). Founder John Smith was one of the most experienced distiller of his day.
 
 
Before creating Cragganmore, Glenfarclas particular he directed, The Glenlivet and The Macallan. Keen on this new invention that was the railroad, he even build a railway to the distillery for the transport of coal and drums. John Smith was a man of weight, in every sense of the word. A strong personality coupled with a volume not less imposing (135 kilos). He could not, because of his size, take the car for passengers to travel and was reduced in those reserved to the goods!
 
Through successive acquisitions and takeovers, the distillery finally landed in the lap of the Distillers Company Limited (now Diageo) in 1965, when the number of stills increased from two to four. Those of the second distillation has an unusual shape: goosenecks, dishes, are bent T-shaped, increasing the reflux and creates the fruity notes.
 
 
The use of traditional condensers, serpentine shaped, contributes its share to the richness and complexity of the distillate. All this probably explains why Cragganmore has always been considered a malt "Top Class" by blenders. If it had not been chosen to illustrate the Speyside region in the famous Classic Malts range launched in 1988, it would Cragganmore reached the front of the scene as it is today? Because the distillery, relatively remote, located away from the Whisky Trail, the route of Speyside whiskeys.

PROMOTIONS
Newsletter
Votre Email

Votre nom
 
» » CRAGGANMORE


 

 
 
 
Cragganmore est une distillerie de whisky située dans le village de Ballindaloch dans le Banffshire en Écosse.
 
Fondée en 1869 par John Smith, elle a été choisie par le groupe Diageo pour représenter le Speyside dans la série des Classic Malts of Scotland en 1988.
 
Le site originel de la distillerie a été choisi à cause de la proximité de la source de la Craggan d’une part et de la voie ferrée d’autre part. Au moment de la fondation, Smith était déjà un distillateur expérimenté. Il avait été auparavant le manager des distilleries de Macallan, Glenlivet, Glenfarclas et Wishaw.
 
 
Cragganmore possède 2 wash stills, 2 spirit stills de formes très plates et dont les cols de cygne son coudés en forme de T. Elle utilise l’eau de la Craggan qui est très minérale. La distillerie commercialise en nom propre plusieurs singles malt.
La production de Cragganmore est réservée pour environ à la vente sous la forme de single malt, le reste sert dans la fabrication d’assemblages comme ceux de White Horse.
 
 
C’est plus la proximité du chemin de fer que la présence d’une source d’eau qui décida de l’emplacement de la distillerie Cragganmore. Celle-ci se trouve sur les terres du château de Ballindalloch, demeure des Macpherson-Grants dont une aile se visite (ne manquez surtout pas les afternoon teas, so British !). Son fondateur John Smith était l’un des distillateurs les plus expérimentés de son époque.
 
Avant de créer Cragganmore, il dirigea notamment Glenfarclas, The Glenlivet et The Macallan. Féru de cette nouvelle invention qu’était le chemin de fer, il fit même construire une voie ferrée jusqu’à la distillerie pour le transport du charbon et des fûts. John Smith était un homme de poids, dans tous les sens du terme. Une forte personnalité doublée d’un volume non moins imposant (135 kilos). Il ne pouvait, à cause de sa corpulence, emprunter les wagons destinés aux passagers et était réduit à voyager dans ceux réservés aux marchandises !
 
 
Par le biais d’acquisitions et de rachats successifs, la distillerie atterrit finalement dans le giron de la Distillers Company Limited (devenue depuis Diageo) en 1965, date à laquelle le nombre d’alambics passa de deux à quatre. Ceux de deuxième distillation ont une forme inhabituelle : les cols de cygne, plats, sont coudés en forme de T, augmentant ainsi le reflux et favorisant l’apparition de notes fruitées.
 
Le recours à des condenseurs traditionnels, en forme de serpentin, contribue pour sa part à la richesse et à la complexité du distillat. Tout ceci explique sans doute pourquoi Cragganmore a toujours été considéré comme un malt «Top Class» par les blenders. Si elle n’avait pas été choisie pour illustrer la région du Speyside dans la célèbre gamme des Classic Malts lancée en 1988, Cragganmore serait-elle parvenue sur le devant de la scène comme elle l’est aujourd’hui ? Car la distillerie, relativement reculée, se situe à l’écart du Whisky Trail, la route des whiskies du Speyside.
 
 
 
 

RETRAIT GRATUIT

Sur Place
6 avenue de L’Estérel
06160 Juan les Pins
Tél:+33(0)493610556 
Ventes flash
Meilleures ventes
6.40 €
PUECH HAUT PRESTIGE ROSE 0.75 CL
14.50 €
22.90 €
Voir le top ventes complet
Livraisons